S’mores Brownies

Sorry I have been missing in action for the last month. I celebrated Memorial Day with an old friend, my sister graduated from college, I traveled back to Kentucky to support a very good friend of mine at a big point in her life, and I was a mere 40 feet away from Taylor Swift during her concert. Big. Deal.

Despite a pretty busy schedule, I’ve been careful not to leave a dessert behind and at least have a bite of each sugary sweetness that comes across my plate. First up is my contribution to the Memorial Day party I attended. My friend Megan invited me to her apartment for a party. I was Megan’s peer adviser when she was freshman. Back then, I helped her with picking out classes; now, the advice goes both ways.

So when it came to picking out a recipe to make for Megan’s party, I went to a good fallback. S’mores. S’mores are my comfort dessert. They were a staple at every Girl Scout campfire, and in college, I learned to make a monster s’more in the microwave. Oh and who could forget Ham Porter teaching Smalls how to make a s’more in The Sandlot.

First you take the graham. You stick the chocolate on the graham. Then you roast the ‘mallow. When the ‘mallows flaming, you stick it on the chocolate. Then cover with the other end. Then you scarf.

My recipe has a step or two more, but trust me, this is easy to throw together for any get-together!

Smores Brownies

S'mores Brownies

  • Servings: 24
  • Difficulty: Medium
  • Print

Ingredients

  • Brownie mix + necessary ingredients
  • 2 cups marshmallows
  • 1 sleeve of graham crackers
  • 3 tbs sugar
  • 8 tbs melted butter
  • Pinch of salt

Directions

  1. Make the brownies as directed on the box, but take them out of the oven a few minutes early.
  2. Scatter marshmallows on top of the brownies, and turn on the broiler in your oven. Pop the brownies back in the oven to “roast the ‘mallow.” Don’t let the ‘mallow flame, but once the marshmallows are puffed up and a little golden on top, take the brownies out of the oven and set aside.
  3. Now for the graham cracker crumble. Turn the oven down to 325 degrees, and line a cookie sheet with foil.
  4. If you have a food processor, grind the graham crackers into a fine crumble. If you don’t have a big kitchen filled with fancy appliances, put the graham crackers in a big Ziploc bag and go to town with a metal spoon or a rolling pin. Trust me, it does the trick.
  5. Add the sugar, melted butter and pinch of salt to the graham cracker crumble. Thoroughly mix together until little nuggets form.
  6. Spread graham cracker mixture into the cookie sheet and bake for about 10 minutes until lightly golden brown.
  7. Brake the graham cracker mixture apart and crumble over the marshmallows to complete your S’mores Brownies.

Leave a Reply

